D
reconnect feature
1 pages • Page 1
M
c
M
lemme test one more time.. make sure it wasn't some fluke from an early update- been farming that bear and had to reboot (switching windows ect..) so I ended gw.exe in the task manager
on reboot.. I logged back into guildwars expecting a reconnect and there was none..
I tried this in missions, ect. just to see
what fixed it was.. let's say I was in a area on character X, and logging in the security box with character Y to reconnect.. when it got to the character select screen where it usually says do you want to reconnect?.. it was focused on character Y with no option to reconnect to the old session
as soon as I switched the security box to character X instead of Y, it would work.. lemme try it again and see, once I got it working didn't bother with it
*edit
yep it's the same regina.. doesn't let me reconnect when using another characters name in the new security box
on reboot.. I logged back into guildwars expecting a reconnect and there was none..
I tried this in missions, ect. just to see
what fixed it was.. let's say I was in a area on character X, and logging in the security box with character Y to reconnect.. when it got to the character select screen where it usually says do you want to reconnect?.. it was focused on character Y with no option to reconnect to the old session
as soon as I switched the security box to character X instead of Y, it would work.. lemme try it again and see, once I got it working didn't bother with it
*edit
yep it's the same regina.. doesn't let me reconnect when using another characters name in the new security box
D
So far it has happened in explorable areas, haven't tried a mission. However, I've lost connection in three different ways. One is just internet cutting out. The other would be my game client crashing and restarting. Lastly a blue screen.....all of which I was able to reconnect from. However, I haven't even been given the option since the update. I will try what the first post suggests and using the character name on the login screen of which I will play. I've used my main chars name so far but have not actually played it when the disconnect occurred.
Explorable area has mainly been DoA, can't remember what, if any, other areas I have been in.
Explorable area has mainly been DoA, can't remember what, if any, other areas I have been in.
Error report follows. First two entries produced a failure to reconnect. All the others succeeded. Selecting a different character in the security question box than the one in an instance after a client crash seems to skip the reconnect option. A network error never displays the log in screen, or at least it did not during these tests, so the character select security question does not seem to be a factor there.
1. Venta Cemetery, Task Manager used to dc, character select manually entered for a different character than the one in the mission, reconnect was not displayed. Character select screen displayed the character manually entered. Character in mission before disconnect was manually selected, but loaded into mission outpost.
2. Venta Cemetery, Task Manager used to dc, character select automatically entered(remember details checked) for a different character than the one in the mission, reconnect was not displayed. Character select screen displayed the character automatically entered. Character in mission before disconnect was manually selected, but loaded into mission outpost.
3. Venta Cemetery, firewall used to dc, character select automatically entered(remember details option checked) for the same character as the one in the mission, reconnect was displayed and succeeded first attempt.
4. Venta Cemetery, Task Manager used to dc, character select(remember details option checked) for the same character as the one in the mission, reconnect was displayed and succeeded second attempt.
5. Venta Cemetery, Task Manager used to dc, character select manually entered for the same character as the one in the mission(remember details set for different character), reconnect was displayed and succeeded first attempt.
6. Venta Cemetery, firewall used to dc, character select(remember details option checked) for a different character than the one in the mission, reconnect was displayed and succeeded first attempt.
1. Venta Cemetery, Task Manager used to dc, character select manually entered for a different character than the one in the mission, reconnect was not displayed. Character select screen displayed the character manually entered. Character in mission before disconnect was manually selected, but loaded into mission outpost.
2. Venta Cemetery, Task Manager used to dc, character select automatically entered(remember details checked) for a different character than the one in the mission, reconnect was not displayed. Character select screen displayed the character automatically entered. Character in mission before disconnect was manually selected, but loaded into mission outpost.
3. Venta Cemetery, firewall used to dc, character select automatically entered(remember details option checked) for the same character as the one in the mission, reconnect was displayed and succeeded first attempt.
4. Venta Cemetery, Task Manager used to dc, character select(remember details option checked) for the same character as the one in the mission, reconnect was displayed and succeeded second attempt.
5. Venta Cemetery, Task Manager used to dc, character select manually entered for the same character as the one in the mission(remember details set for different character), reconnect was displayed and succeeded first attempt.
6. Venta Cemetery, firewall used to dc, character select(remember details option checked) for a different character than the one in the mission, reconnect was displayed and succeeded first attempt.
I get disconnected from my friends list alot in the last few days, when i hit reconnect my List says online, but i stay offline on roster and friends can't pm me.
c
N
T
It seems that the game sets the char whos name is the security answer as default, thus disabling the possibility to reconnect to another char. Just putting the desired char into the security answer seems to solve the problem. There is no problem if you don't have to reinsert the passwrod and security answer and reconnecting with the friend list - it automaticly shows the char you are on in the security answer.
D


This will really help QA try and pinpoint the issue.