Guild Wars Forums - GW Guru
 
 

Go Back   Guild Wars Forums - GW Guru > Forest of True Sight > Questions & Answers

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Mar 22, 2011, 04:38 PM // 16:38   #1
angela faye
Krytan Explorer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Profession: R/
Advertisement

Disable Ads
Default GW down now?

Tried several times, cant log in my GW account or sometimes did log in but cant go any further. Any other ppl have same problem?
angela faye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2011, 04:41 PM // 16:41   #2
Why?
Frost Gate Guardian
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Guild: Society Of Souls [Argh]
Profession: N/Me
Default

i'm on now. try restarting your computer and gw. then try the switches, -repair first.

hopefully just a restart will work.
Why? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2011, 06:32 PM // 18:32   #3
Braxton619
Desert Nomad
 
Braxton619's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Profession: A/W
Default

Try to disable your fw or av. Also try reinstalling GW. Your last resort is reinstalling Windows.
Braxton619 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2011, 07:19 PM // 19:19   #4
TheGizzy
Krytan Explorer
 
TheGizzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: A giant mitten
Guild: TeAe
Profession: E/R
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braxton619 View Post
Try to disable your fw or av. Also try reinstalling GW. Your last resort is reinstalling Windows.
I hope no one else is foolish enough to take this kind of advice.

When you're unable to connect to a service like GW - and assuming you can access other websites/games, try checking if it's a local problem (on your end) or a wide-spread problem. Search Google for "traceroute online," to find sites that will ping an IP address from THEIR server - you'll find one in the first few search results. Type in the IP address displayed in the upper left corner of your GW loading screen when it's trying to load you into the outpost.

If the traceroute results show that they can't get a response, it's not an issue on your end - it's on the server side, and you just have to wait it out. Today, it was on GW's end, NOT on the user's end, and all the reinstalling in the world wouldn't have helped matters.

If they DO get a positive response, try rebooting. If that doesn't work, reboot your router and your modem and then reboot your computer again. When rebooting the router and modem, you want to unplug both the power AND the cable - and just leave them unplugged for about 2 minutes. A quick cycle may not be enough, so you might as well just give it the 2 minutes. When reconnecting, boot the modem first, then the router, then your system.

Please don't do something stupid like reinstalling Windows until you have confirmed with certainty that it is on your end, rather than on the server's end. You can do this by a) posting for help here on Guru and/or b) submitting a support ticket to ANet. Using the "Test My Computer" option on the login screen can provide some useful information in a diagnostic .txt file which you can share with ANet... please don't go posting those logs on sites like this, though... not without heavy editing, anyway.

Nor should you be disabling your fire wall or anti-virus if the game has normally run on your system up until now. That may be used as part of a diagnostic process if a game won't connect right after install, or after a major update to the firewall/AV software... but NOT as part of a "the game worked 10 minutes ago and now it doesn't" solution-finding situation.
TheGizzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2011, 08:59 PM // 20:59   #5
Shinigami Hades
Pre-Searing Cadet
 
Shinigami Hades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Profession: W/Mo
Default

I've been unable to connect for 2 days now. I can log in to my account, but trying to get to an outpost...nothing. Tried the traceroute pinger...here is my result:

Ping 64.25.39.32
Timed out
Destination network unreachable
Timed out
Destination network unreachable
Timed out
Destination network unreachable
Timed out
Destination network unreachable
Timed out
Destination network unreachable
Average time over 10 pings: 0 ms
Shinigami Hades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2011, 09:09 PM // 21:09   #6
TheGizzy
Krytan Explorer
 
TheGizzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: A giant mitten
Guild: TeAe
Profession: E/R
Default

It's down again - on their end.

It's also possible this was going on yesterday... I haven't been in-game much the last few days, so I don't know for sure.
TheGizzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2011, 11:16 PM // 23:16   #7
majoho
Forge Runner
 
majoho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Denmark
Default

I can log in just fine, I can't connect to the official wiki though.
majoho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2011, 11:25 PM // 23:25   #8
Messy
huh?
 
Messy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Follow the rainbow, make a left and voila
Guild: Guildless
Profession: R/
Default

I just connected to both the game and the official wiki without a problem.
__________________
HABLO ESPAƑOL
Messy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2011, 12:25 AM // 00:25   #9
majoho
Forge Runner
 
majoho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Denmark
Default

Guess it's a routing problem of some kind.

EDIT: actually it works now.

Last edited by majoho; Mar 23, 2011 at 12:28 AM // 00:28..
majoho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2011, 01:19 PM // 13:19   #10
famous phil
Ascalonian Squire
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Default

This started for me yesterday and am still having a problem connecting. Can log in, select char, but wont load. Is anyone else still having this problem.

I have a support ticket in to GW They are saying it is either a antivirus/firewall issue. I have disabled all antivirus' and firewall. Still no go.
famous phil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2011, 01:31 PM // 13:31   #11
onerabbit
Grotto Attendant
 
onerabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Guild: Thanks to all the guru [mods]
Default

I can log in but cant connect to the shop. Error 220.
onerabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2011, 01:50 PM // 13:50   #12
cosyfiep
are we there yet?
 
cosyfiep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in a land far far away
Guild: guild? I am supposed to have a guild?
Profession: Rt/
Default

can log in just fine here .....
__________________
where is the 'all you can eat' cookie bar?
cosyfiep is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share This Forum!  
 
 
           

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:43 AM // 03:43.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.