Guild Wars Forums - GW Guru
 
 

Go Back   Guild Wars Forums - GW Guru > Forest of True Sight > Questions & Answers

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Aug 12, 2012, 08:30 AM // 08:30   #1
Ascalonian Squire
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Advertisement

Disable Ads
Default Changing second profession and elite skills

Simple questions really:

1) if I change my second profession, like Elementalist -> Necromancer, if I go back to elementalist will I have retained all the skills I had unlocked before switching to necro?

2) I'm not trying to get the elite hunter title, but people gave me builds for pvp and pve containing elite skills, so I'd like to know where to get elite skills!
Pseudolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2012, 08:36 AM // 08:36   #2
are we there yet?
 
cosyfiep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in a land far far away
Guild: guild? I am supposed to have a guild?
Profession: Rt/
Default

1 yes, you can change back any time you are in a town ...hit k and then use the drop down (your profession/your secondary profession) tab to change.

2 http://wiki.guildwars.com/wiki/Elite_skill
go down to acquisition and pick either the by campaign or location
__________________
where is the 'all you can eat' cookie bar?
cosyfiep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2012, 08:49 AM // 08:49   #3
Moderator
 
Kamatsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Australia
Default

1) Once you have unlocked a profession as a secondary you will be able to switch back to it at anytime you want in an outpost/town. You won't be able to switch secondaries while in an instance.

Also, you will not loose or forget any skills you unlock and/or learn on the secondary when you switch to another secondary. So when/if you switch back to it, any skill you had learned previously will still be available to you.

So in your example, if your secondary was elementalist and you then switched to necro, you'd loose access to all elementalist skills you had but would gain access to necro skills. If you then switched back to elementalist, you'd loose access to necro skills, but would have access to all elementalist skills you had learned previously.
__________________
Have a moderation related issue or just want to chat? Send me a PM
Kamatsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2012, 02:52 PM // 14:52   #4
Hell's Protector
 
Quaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Guild: Brothers Disgruntled
Default

If I recall, this applies to Ranger's pets as well. That is, if you have a pet on your ranger secondary, and you switch, your pet will still be there when you switch back.
Quaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2012, 08:07 PM // 20:07   #5
Academy Page
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Granitic crust
Guild: Killer Green Buddah
Profession: Mo/
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kamatsu View Post
1) Once you have unlocked a profession as a secondary you will be able to switch back to it at anytime you want in an outpost/town. You won't be able to switch secondaries while in an instance.

Also, you will not loose or forget any skills you unlock and/or learn on the secondary when you switch to another secondary. So when/if you switch back to it, any skill you had learned previously will still be available to you.

So in your example, if your secondary was elementalist and you then switched to necro, you'd loose access to all elementalist skills you had but would gain access to necro skills. If you then switched back to elementalist, you'd loose access to necro skills, but would have access to all elementalist skills you had learned previously.
Just to clarify: While you can switch secondary professions any time you are in town (after you've ascended), your equipped skills will not immediately to be switched to those of your new secondary. Instead, slots that used to hold skills of your secondary will now be blank.
For example:
  1. Let's say you're currently an Ele/Monk with Flare (ele), Aura of Restoration (ele), and rebirth (monk).
  2. You then decide to switch to a ranger secondary (E/R).
  3. You lose Rebirth (monk) from your currently equipped skills, since you're no longer a monk, and that skill is replaced with a blank skill slot.
  4. You decide to slot in Comfort Animal (ranger) where rebirth used to be.
  5. You then decide to switch back to monk (E/Mo)
  6. You lose Comfort Animal(ranger) from your currently equipped skills, and it is replaced with a blank skill slot, not rebirth (monk).
Make sense? In the above example, you could of course then slot rebirth back in, but it's not automatic.
Frangeo Munda is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share This Forum!  
 
 
           

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:22 PM // 20:22.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
jQuery(document).ready(checkAds()); function checkAds(){if (document.getElementById('adsense')!=undefined){document.write("_gaq.push(['_trackEvent', 'Adblock', 'Unblocked', 'false',,true]);");}else{document.write("